The Astrological e-Magazine




Nine planetary ruler or administrators of the new year 



In Vedic Astrology, the beginning of a new year is calculated from the first day of Chaitra Shukla Pratipada and usually it occurs in the middle of March-April every year (This year it occurs in 9th April-2024). Whereas Bengali New Year generally begins on 14/15 April every year.

Most of the Indian Panchagam (Panjika) published in India, gives a detail Varsha-Phala and Nine Planetary Cabinet or Lord and Office bearer of that year. It is just like an ancient kingdom which used to be ruled by Nine Nayakas or Administrators.

Nava Nayaka are Calculated on the basis of Week Day, Sun’s entry in specific Rashi/Sign of the Zodiac.

  1. King (Raja) : The day lord of Chaitra Shukla Pratipada (at sunrise)
  2. Mantri (Minister): The day lord when Sun enters Aries (Mesh Rasi)
  3. Senadhipati (Commander-in-Chief): The day lord when Sun enters Leo (Simha Rasi)
  4. Argyhadhipati (Water): The day lord when Sun enters Gemini (Mithun Rasi)
  5. Meghadhipati (Clouds): The day lord when Sun enters Aadra Nakshatra
  6. Shasyadhipati (Agriculture): The day lord when Sun enters Cancer (Karkat Rasi)
  7. Dhanyadhipati (Cereals And Grains): The day lord when Sun enters Sagittarius (Dhanu Rasi)
  8. Rasadhipati (Beverages, Defence etc): The day lord when Sun enters Libra (Tula Rasi)
  9. Neerasadhipathi (Diseases, Relations, Karma etc): The day lord when Sun enters Capricorn (Makara Rasi)

Nava Nayaka Calculation formulae based on transit of Sun  in specific Rashi/Sign, Vara (Weekdays) and date of Nava-Varsha (on Chaitra Shukla Pratipada for each Vedic New Year (Vikram Samvat or Shali Vahana Saka Samvat).

As per Vedic astrology, a year is also administered by 7 planets, who get any of the 9 portfolios. Here, Rahu and Ketu are exempted from these 9 portfolios as they do not own a Vara(weekday) and Rashi Lordship (zodiac sign).

If the first day (pratipada) of a lunar month starts on a day after sunrise, that day is not counted but next day when same Tithi (lunar day) at sunrise is taken into account.

One planet(Graha) can have one or more portfolios, whereas few may not get any portfolio in that year.

If in the year, natural malefic (Sun, Mars, Saturn) getting more (at least 5 out of 9) portfolios indicate administration and nature being tough on human beings for that year.

Natural benefic (Moon, Jupiter, Venus) getting more portfolios is good for general wellbeing.

Mercury is neutral planet and behaves according to conjunction(s) on Nava-Varsha day.

General administration is with the Prime Minister, so a natural administrators Aries (Mesha Rasi) and Sun are chosen.

Commander-in-chief (Senadhipathi) is chosen based on day when Sun enters Leo (Simha Rasi) because Leo is a natural commander.

This Year Vedic Nava-Varsha  Begins on  9 April 2024

 (Vikram Samvat 2081)

Shukla Pratipada Begins at 23: 50 PM (08/04/2024)

Shulka Pratipada Ends at 20: 30 PM (9/04/2024)

Samvatsar Name “Krodhee”  (5 Cycle of 60 Jovian Year)

The Nav-Nayaks For This Year

(9 April 2024 and Vikram Samvat 2081)

Raja – Mercury

Mantri —- Moon

Senaadhipati, Meghadhipati, Arghyadhipati - Sun

Rasadhipati — Saturn

Sasyadhipati, Neerasadhipati — Jupiter

Dhanyadhipati — Mars

Please Note:---Sometimes the Nava-Nayakas for the same year may vary from Panchang to panchang. As because there is a difference of

  1. Beginning of New year Date is different.

For Example, Bengali New Year  generally begins on 14/15 April each Year. Whereas Vikram Samvat New year  begins on Chaitra Shukla Pratipada Tithi (Lunar Day).

  1. Panchang-Ganit Method “Drik-Siddhanta” or “Non Drik-Siddhanta” or the different Ayanamsa chosen by  the astrologer is different.

My personal view, N. C. Lahiri Ayanamsa (Drik Siddhantha)  or KP Ayanamsa are the most accurate methods to be used.

 Thanks For Reading This Article

With Warm Wishes And Sincere Regards




#Astrologer #Prof. #RISHABH_SHASTRi