The Astrological e-Magazine

Tajik Shastra (Jyotish) And Its Unique Features


Tajik Shastra (Jyotish) And Its Unique Features

#By #Prof._Rishabh_Shastri


Tajik Jyotish, or Tajik Shastra, that is, Tajik system of astrology, is one of the three systems of Indian astrology as applied to individual charts. The other two systems are the Parashari and Jaimini systems.

The word Tajik means an Arabic or a Persian origin and it indicates the history of the evolution of this system of astrology in India.  In 1544 CE,  an Indian scholar Neelkantha, son of Shrimad Ananta Daivajna translated this system from Arabic/Persian to Sanskrit in his text "Tajik Neelakanthi".

Tajik system attempts to predict in detail the likely happenings in one year of an individual's life. On account of this, this system is also called the Varsha-Phala system.

The term Varsha-Phala means the consequence, effect, or result for one year of the planetary transits at the moment of the solar return.  A year under scrutiny begins at the moment when the sun returns to the same longitude as it had at the time of the individual's birth. This moment is called the moment of solar return.

The duration between one moment of solar return till the next moment of solar return is the period covered by one annual chart or the Varsha-Kundli.

Such an annual chart was meant to be constructed for every year and examined in detail." the Tajik or the annual horoscopy, has been rather overwhelmingly dominated by the natal horoscopy. In which of the next five years it would be more fruitful to start a venture is a question many people ask. This question is generally answered on the basis of the birth horoscope, the Dasha periods and transits.

The Tajik system takes care of all those areas that are covered by the natal horoscopy. It is true to say that the Tajik cannot give what the birth horoscope does not promise.

It is truer to say that the Tajika reveals, with greater clarity, the year in which the promise of the birth horoscope will be fulfilled.

The Tajik astrology is thus a complementary, supplementary and confirmatory in nature.

Some Special features of Tajik System of Astrology

The following are some of the features of Tajik Shastra that make it distinct from the more popular natal astrology.

Specified duration:--- One Year

Tajik system is used to predict events during a specified duration, namely, one year. Use of transit chart: The system uses the transit chart which shows the transits of various planets at the moment of the solar return.

Special Aspects:

In the Tajik  system, the aspects are different from the Parashari system.


The yogas in the Tajik system are different from the yogas in the natal horoscopy.

Gender of planets:

The attribution of gender to planets in Tajik is at variance from that in Parasail system.

Varsha-Adhipati ( Lord of the year) :

One of the planets is considered to be the ruler of a particular year and this planet is assumed to significantly influence the events of the year.


A unique feature of the Tajik system is the determination of certain sensitive points or Sahams. Each such sensitive point or Saham is meant to shed light on one particular aspect of life during the year in question.

The "Tri-Pataki Chakra":

This consists of a special charting of various planets as located in the birth chart in relation to the ascendant in the annual chart.

The Muntha:

This a sensitive, generally auspicious point, in the annual chart.


Tajik writers have made a significant contribution in the Horary Astrology i.e. the Prashna Tantra. Tajik writers apart from the theory of Tajik aspects have given various Yogas.

Here is The brief details of various Tajik Yogas :----

Ishkavala Yoga: 

Placement of Planets in kendras (1, 4, 7, 10) and Panapharas (2, 5, 8, 11) alone, without any planet in 3, 6, 9, 12 produce this yoga. This yoga is favourable leading to gain in wealth.

Induvara Yoga: 

In this Yoga, when all Planets are positioned in 3, 6, 9, 12 (Apoklimas) only then cause this yoga. This is considered as unfavourable Yoga and leads to disappointments in all undertakings, mental worry and physical ailments.

Ithasala Yoga: 

This Yoga is caused due to the variation of the speed of the planets moving. for example Saturn is the slowest moving planet while Moon is the fastest. If the faster planet with less longitude is backward of a slower moving planet with greater longitude, Ithasala Yoga is caused.

Easarapha Yoga: 

When the faster moving planets is ahead of the slower moving planets by one degree than Easarapha is caused. It is unfavourable

Naktha Yoga: When there is no mutual aspect between 2 planets but a faster planet is in between in both aspects then this yoga is caused.

Yamaya Yoga: 

When there is no aspect between the two lords and the slower moving planet is in between these two lords involved in aspect with them then the slower moving planet will transfer light from the other faster of the two lords to the slower. When two planets are not in mutual aspect but are in Ithasala with a slow-moving planet, then Yamaya Yoga occurs. The result is the object will be fulfilled through a third person.

Manahoo Yoga:

When there is an Ithasala between two planets and Saturn and Mars are within the orb of the faster planet giving light, this yoga is caused, the result are unfavourable such as failure, fear from enemies etc.

Kamboola Yoga: 

When there is Ithasala between two planets and Moon is involved in it then Kamboola is caused. This produce favourable results

Gairikamboola Yoga: 

When the Moon is with any other planet whether or not forming a yoga, and when other planet has just entered the sign, the resulting yoga is Gairikamboola.

Raddha Yoga: 

An Ithasala Yoga becomes Radda Yoga when a planet is in retrogression or in combustion or within the orb of the Sun, the result being a success after much troubles.

Dupharikoota Yoga: 

A slow-moving planet when  exalted, occupying own house or otherwise auspicious enters into Ithasala Yoga with a faster moving planet not in exaltation, own house, etc., the Dupparikutha Yoga is caused, the result is favourable

Duttottadi Yoga: 

When both the ascendant lord and the significator of an event (i.e., when any two planets) are weak but one of them has an Ithasala when another planets in exaltation, own house, etc., Duttota Yoga is caused. the result is success through the help of another person.

Thambeera Yoga: 

When a faster planet strongly disposed at the end of a sign is about to form Ithasala with a slow-moving planet  in the next sign, Thambeera is caused. This yoga favours fulfilment of desires

Kuttha Yoga: 

If a planet in the ascendant is aspected by a planet occupying a Kendra or Panaphara which should be his own or exaltation house, Kuttha is caused. The result is fulfilment of desires.

Darapha Yoga.

When a planet in the 6th, 8th or 12th is debilitated or occupies an enemy's house or is retrograde or combust and enters into Ithasala with another planet similarly afflicted, this yoga is caused. such a planet is powerless to give rise to any good results.

Thanks for Reading,

Jay Maa Tara

Sarvesang Mangalam Bhavatu




#Consult For A Better Life and  Better Success

#Mobile --#9051879028,#9831695057