The Astrological e-Magazine


By The Great Sage Acharya VARAHA–MIHIRA


By The Great Sage Acharya VARAHA–MIHIRA

Chapter---12 -- Nabhasa Yogas

Stanza 1:

By combinations of two, three and four the multiples of 9, 10, 8 by 3, 3 and 4 respectively will be the number of Nabhasa yogas obtained by this process. Yavanas have described 1800 varieties but I will describe them here briefly.

Stanza 2:

If the planets are in Chara, etc., Rajju, Musala and Nala yogas are formed respectively according to Satya. These are Asraya yogas. Parasara mentions two yogas as Dala under sruk and sarpa when the benefics and malefics are in kendras respectively.

Stanza 3:

Asraya yogas, according to some, are really incorporated in the Yava, Abja, Vajra, Andaja, Golaka, etc., to be stated hereafter. Dala yogas have no separate significance, according to some, as the results of benefics and malefics occupying the kendras have already been indicated.

Stanza 4:

When two adjacent quadrants are combined with all the planets it goes under the name of Gada. It will be called Sakata when all the planets occupy the 1st and the 7th houses. When all the planets occupy the 4th and the 10th is called Vihaga. If all the planets occupy the 1st, 5th and 9th houses it is called Sringataka. If all the planets are in 5th and 9th it is called Hala. So say the learned in astrology.

Stanza 5:

When benefics are in first and seventh and malefics are in fourth and tenth it is called Vajra. If the planets are reversed then it is called Yava. If the planets are mixed it is called Kamala. If the planets are outside kendras it is called Vapi.

Stanza 6:

I have given these Vajra yogas, etc., in accordance with older sciences, but how can Budha and Shukra be in the 4th from the Sun.

Stanza 7:

If all the planets are within the first four houses of the 1st, 2nd 3rd and 4th kendras Yupa, Ishu, Sakthi and Danda yogas are respectively formed.

Stanza 8:

If all the planets are in the first 7 houses from the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th kendras they give rise to Nau, Kuta, Chhatra and Chapa yogas respectively. If these yogas are in other houses they are called Ardachandra.

Stanza 9:

If all the planets are in the alternate houses from the 2nd from lagna, it goes under the name of Samudra. If from lagna planets are similarly situated, it forms Chakra. This is the summary of Akriti yogas.

Stanza 10:

By all the planets occupying 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 houses, they form seven yogas, viz., Vallaki, Dama, Pasa, Kedara, Shula, Yuga and Gola, respectively. These are to be considered in the absence of the previously mentioned yogas.

Stanza 11:

Rajju produces envy, foreign residence and fondness for traveling. Musala makes one proud, wealthy, and capable of doing many works. Nala makes a person limbless, determined, rich and courageous. Srik makes him happy and Sarpa gives him great misery.

Stanza 12:

Asraya yogas, when they join other yogas become fruitless. The yogas with which Asrayas join will give results. When Asrayas are free, they give their own results.

Stanza 13:

Gada = fond of sacrifices, rich; Sakata-lives by carriages, sickly, bad wife; Vihaga = ambassador, traveler, quarrelsome; Sringataka- happiness after a long age;  Hala = agriculturist.

Stanza 14:

Vajra = enjoys happiness in the beginning and end of his life, popular, courageous; Yava = warlike, happy in the end; Padma = well known reputation, great happiness, and good character; Vapi = good health, accumulator of money and miser

Stanza 15:

Yupa = liberal, watchful, performs sacrifices; Sara = fond of killing, jailor, maker of weapons; Sakti = mean, lazy, devoid of wealth and happiness; Danda = servitude, rejected by or separated from those who are dear.

Stanza 16:

Nou = famous, unsteady fortune and miserly; Kuta = liar, imprisonment; Chatra = helping relations, enjoyment in old age; Chapa = courageous enjoying life in the first and last parts of his days.

Stanza 17:

Ardhachandra = popular, handsome, leader; Samudra = equal to a ruler, happy; Chakra = respected by sovereigns; Veena = intelligent and skilful, clever in dancing and music.

Stanza 18:

Damini = liberal, philanthropic, protector, many cattle; Pasa = possessing relations and servants who are clever in acquiring wealth, and bad in behaviour; Kedara = agriculturist, helping many; Shula = courageous, having wounds, fond of wealth but poor.

Stanza 19:

Yuga = poor, unbeliever;  Gola = penniless, sinful, ignorant, skilful in mean arts, lazy, traveling. These are Nabhasa yogas related by me, and they will always be productive of their own results.

Thanks For Reading

Sarvesang Mangalam Bhavatu

Jay Maa Tara

Prof. Rishabh Shastri 

Consultant - Astro-Vastu-Palm-Numero-Tarot-Gem-Therapist