The Astrological e-Magazine


By TheĀ  Great Sage Acharya Varaha-Mihira


By The  Great Sage Acharya Varaha-Mihira

Chapter - 2 ---- Graha Yoni Prabheda

Stanza 1:

The Sun represents the Atma, the Moon mind, Mars strength, Mercury speech, Jupiter wisdom and happiness, Venus passions, and Saturn sorrow, of Kalapurusha respectively. The Sun and the Moon are Rajas, Mars is Commander-in-Chief, Mercury is Yuvaraja, Jupiter and Venus are Ministers, and Saturn is the Servant.

Stanza 2:

Heli and Surya are names for the Sun.  Chandrama and Sitarashmi stand for the Moon.  Hemno, Vit, Gna, Bodhana and Induputra are names for Mercury. Ara, Vakra, Kruradrik, Avanaya denote Mars; Kona, Manda, Suryaputra and Asita stand for Saturn.

Stanza 3:

Jiva, Angira, Suraguru, Vachasampati and Ijya are terms for Jupiter.

Sukra, Bhrigu, Brigusuta, Sita and Aspujit are names for Venus.

Tamas, Agu and Asura are names for Rahu, Sikhi stands for Ketu.

Their other names must be learnt from well-known works in the world.

Stanza 4:

The Sun is dark-red, the Moon white, Mars blood-red, Mercury green, Jupiter yellow or golden, Venus neither white nor black, Saturn black.

Stanza 5:

Copper colour is governed by the Sun, while white by the Moon, blood-red by Mars, green by Mercury, yellow by Jupiter, variegated colours by Venus and black by Saturn. The Sun has Agni as adhidevata. The Moon Ambu, Mars has Kumara, Mercury has Keshava, Jupiter has Indra, Venus has Indrani, and Saturn has Kaha. The East, etc., is governed by the Sun, Venus, Mars, Rahu, Saturn, Moon, Mercury and Jupiter respectively. Waning Moon, Sun, Mars, Saturn and Mercury in conjunction with them, are malefics.

Stanza 6:

Saturn and Mercury are impotent, Venus and Moon are females and the rest are masculine. Fire, Earth, Sky, Water and Air are rules by Mars, etc.

Stanza 7:

Shukra and Guru represent Vipras, Kuja and Ravi Kshatriyas, Chandra Vaisya, Budha Shudra, and Shani represent Antyajas. Chandra,  Ravi and Guru represent Satwa, Kuja and Shani Tamasa, and Budha and Shukra represent Rajasa


Stanza 8:

 To Stanza 11:

The Sun has a well proportioned body, is bilious and possesses pingala eyes, has short hairs, coloured eyes.

The Moon has a well rounded body, much wind and phlegm, intelligent, sweet speech and good eyes. Mars is youthful, liberal bilious, fickle minded and possesses a thin waist.

Mercury has gurgling speech, fond of joking and has a mixture of air, phlegm and bile.

Jupiter has a corpulent body, golden locks and eyes, moral and is phlegmatic.

Venus is fond of happiness, handsome, fine eyes and black ringlets and a temperament compounded of wind and phlegm.

Saturn is lazy, has yellowish eyes, lean tall body, stout teeth and rough hairs.  He is of windy temperament. Saturn governs nerves, the Sun rules bones, the Moon controls the blood, Mercury the skin, Venus the sperm, Jupiter the brain, and Mars the marrow.

Stanza 12:

The Sun controls Devasthana, the Moon watery place, Mars the fire place, Mercury the gaming place,  Jupiter the treasury, Venus the bed room, and Saturn the heap of dirt.

The Sun governs rough cloth, the Moon rules new clothes, Mars controls burnt clothes, Mercury rules soaked clothes, Jupiter neither old nor new clothes, Venus controls strong clothes, and Saturn rules rags. Sun governs copper, Moon precious stones, Mars gold, Mercury bell-metal, etc., Jupiter silver, and when he is in his own house he governs gold, Venus pearls and Saturn governs iron, lead, etc.

Saturn controls Shishira, Venus Vasanta, Mars Grishma, Moon Varsha, Mercury Sharat, Jupiter Hemanta, and the Sun Grishma. These seasons may also be indicated by the lord of the Drekkana rising in the lagna at the time of question or consultation of lost horoscopes.

Stanza 13:

Planets aspect ¼, 1/2,  ¾ and full in the 3rd and 10th, in the 5th and 9th, in the 4th and 8th and in the 7th respectively. Saturn, Mars and Jupiter have special sights and are powerful in aspecting 3rd and 10th, 4th and 8th and 5th and 9th respectively

Stanza 14:

An Ayana, a Kshana, a Vasara, a Rithu, a Masa, an Ardha and a Sama will be the time allotted to the Sun, etc., respectively, for the fulfillment of any act or deed indicated in a question.  Pungent, salt, bitter, mixture, sweet, sour and acid are the tastes attributed to the Sun, etc., respectively.

Stanza 15:

According to some, Sun has Jupiter, Moon has Mercury and Jupiter, Mars has Venus and Mercury, Mercury has all except the Sun; Jupiter has all except Mars; Venus has all except the Sun and the Moon; and Saturn has all except Mars, Moon and the Sun as friends. But according to Satya from the trikona of the planet the 2nd, 12th, 5th, 9th, the lord of his exaltation. 8th and 4th lords, are friends. The rest are not friends.


16 & 17:


Planets &Their  Friends                   Neutrals                         Enemies



Neutral (Sama )



Moon, Mars, Jupiter


Venus, Saturn


Sun, Mercury

Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn



Sun Jupiter, Moon

Venus, Saturn



Sun, Moon, Mars

Jupiter, Saturn,Mars



Sun, Moon, Mars


Mercury, Venus


Mercury, Saturn

Jupiter, Mars

Sun, Moon


Mercury, Venus


Sun, Moon, Mars


Venus, Saturn

Mercury, Jupiter



Sun, Moon, Mars

Mercury, Jupiter

Venus, Saturn



Stanza 18:

N.B. 1 & 2 are added by me as par others classical texts

The Planet in the 2nd, 12th, 11th, 3rd, 10th, or 4th from any other planet at the time of birth, becomes his temporary friend.  Some say the lord of the house in which a planet is exalted also becomes his friend. The rest (unnamed here) are enemies. The lords of two houses, the lord of one house named and the lord of house not named become friend, neutral, and enemy, respectively. These relations (temporary) must be taken along with the Naisargika (permanent) relations named in the previous stanzas and then friendship, etc., must be finally determined.

Stanza 19:

By Swachha, Suhrut, Swa Trikona, Navamsa, the planets get Sthana Vala. In the East Jupiter and Mercury, in the North the Sun and Mars, in the West Saturn, and in the South Venus and Moon get Digvala.

Stanza 20:

Ravi and Chandra have chestavala in Oottarayana. The rest will have chestavala when they have Vakra or Samagama. Those who are in the North of the planetary fight, and those whose rays are bright also possess chestavala.

Stanza 21:

The night gives Moon, Mars and Saturn Kalavala. Mercury has it always. The rest are powerful during the day. Benefics have Kalavala during the bright half of the lunar month, while malefics get it during the dark half. The lord of the year, of the day, of the hora, of the masa also gets Kalavala. Sa, Ku, Bu, Gu, Su, Sha, Ra, are respectively stronger than each other.

Thanks for Reading this Chapter

Jay Maa Tara

Sarvesang Mangalam Bhavatu